Change Your Words

We don’t have money to go out to eat

We don’t have money to buy a motor cycle

We don’t have money for that hospital bill

We don’t have money for that sweater

I have said these statements (aloud or to myself) in just the past few days.

It wasn’t until I heard my husband say to my brother “We probably aren’t going to Tennessee next year because we don’t have the money” that it happened.

Conviction

The Lord right then said to me “It’s not money you don’t have, it’s a change in priorities.”

WOW.

I immediately saw how negative my husband’s statement sounded and how negative I have sounded countless times when I talk about our finances to someone else or even to my husband (or even to myself).

I’ve become so accustomed to saying “we don’t have money” that it’s become habit when Lord is right. (When is He ever wrong!?)  We have money but we have become more in tune with our budget and what our priorities are. What we spend money on is now in clear focus.

The Lord also reminded me that life and death are in the tongue.  When I say “we don’t have money” I am speaking negatively (death) about our situation.  If I say, “Going out to eat isn’t a priority for us” or “I don’t want to spend my money going out for lunch” I am speaking the truth of the situation.

Budgeting and spending wisely are positive things.  They are not easy things but they are positive and in the long run they are freeing.  I shouldn’t be speaking in a way that makes them seem negative.

What a better example I am to everyone around me, family, friends or coworkers when I voice my choice on my spending in a positive way (life).

Other People’s Perception

A non-believer may say to themselves “Well she’s not living any kind of victorious life; she never has money for anything. What blessed life is she talking about” Now granted money doesn’t equal victorious living but to a non-believer it might.

Secondly, as I mentioned before I’m not speaking victoriously about my situation.  I am blessed with funds to pay my bills and feed my family but I choose not to spend money on a sweater because it’s not a necessity.

My brother is in his early 20’s and I’m trying to get him to understand budgeting.  I pray that the mini conversation about vacation doesn’t make him think budgeting is a waste and too constrictive.

Not What You Say but How You Say It

My husband’s statement about our annual vacation would have been better stated as “We probably aren’t going to Tennessee next year since we’re working on paying off debt.  We’re thinking of doing a few smaller local camping trips that will cost way less.”

Doesn’t that sound hopeful, positive and goal oriented?

“I packed lunch today, I’m saving my lunch money for a sweater I have my eye on.”

This could spark a conversation with a co-worker who is desperate to get out of debt and doesn’t have a clue how to begin.

There are far too many people in the world who really do not have money for basic necessities. I don’t need to water down their hardships by carelessly speaking words that really aren’t true.

Do you find yourself speaking a negative version of a positive situation?

Until Next Time,

Be Blessed

 

This post shared at Women Living Well

One response to “Change Your Words

Leave a Reply

