My 2012 Planning Retreat

Happy New Year everyone!!!

I was inspired by this post from Keeper of the Home earlier this week so I decided to have myself a little planning retreat of my own.  Nothing fancy, in fact it was bit impromptu.  Brad was hunting, Wyatt was napping and I had an hour of uninterrupted silence…..yes…..silence. 

With bible, notepad and coffee in hand i spread a blanket out on our newly cleared out den (turning my scrapbooking area into a play area), lit a candle, turned on the fire-place and talked to God about the upcoming year.

My simple retreat location

I had a few areas in mind from the blog post that I wanted to set goals in but He showed me a few more areas.  Here’s some of what my 2012 plans look like.

Spiritual Growth

I am to continue my morning accountability groups.  for the winter I will be doing Good Morning Girls which starts January 15th.

I will purpose to do more scripture memorization. Not because I must or because it makes me “more Christian” but because knowledge is strength and when the enemy comes I have God’s word hidden in my heart to conquer him.

Wife

“As you decrease your husband will increase. Remind him not of past failures but future victories.”  This word was spoken to me in August and I am holding firm to it.

Mother

I will do one  learning/school type activity with him per month.  That might not sound like much but I am laying the foundation for me to plan out these types of activities for the years to come when I home school.  Plus, he is only 15 months so we are slightly limited in what we can do as far as “school’ activities.

I will encourage him to be a boy. Not worrying about mud and dirt but allowing him to have a good time and learn in the process.

We will work more on potty training

Home Management

I will use List Planit more to help me organize tasks, events and life in general.

I need to start a better cleaning schedule so I don’t feel so overwhelmed about my cleaning

Culinary/Food

Attempt cheese making

Possibly do a GNOWFGLINS ecourse. (!! really excited about this one but we have to see how our finances look first!!)

Implement one new recipe a month into the meal plan and rotate the keepers in following months

Blog

Do a consultation session for my blog with June Fuetes

Write at least 2 times per week for one hour each

Finances

Reduce at least two areas of spending from 2011 totals. 

Family/Friends/Encouragement (not sure what to call this area)

Send an encouraging card to someone weekly.  Seek the Lord and listen for who this should be. 

He gave me this scripture. “See to it brothers that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God. But encourage one another daily as long as it is called today so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.” Hebrews 3:13-14

Health/Wellness

Outlook: My body is a temp fo the Most High. I need to treat it as such. 

Watch what I eat – Not calories and fat but watch the junk, fake food like McDonald’s and boxed stuff and eat more real food……and maybe less chocolate 😦

Start exercising regularly again.  At least three times per week.

Self

Take time for myself.    Paint my nails, scrapbook, read a book, take a walk, do some photography

I will continue to hold on to the promises the Lord has given me. I will pray when I am happy and pray when I am discouraged.  Praise Him when all is well and praise Him when all is not.

Books to read

Through My Eyes

True Christian Motherhood

Crazy Love (started; need to finish)

Embracing the Mess

Healthy Homemaking (reread)

The Most Important Place on Earth (reread)

So there you have it.  A partially complete list of what the Lord has shown me.  I say partially complete because I know he may have more in store. 

What are your plans for 2012? Have you or will you set goals? Leave a comment and tell me what you’re planning for the coming year.

Until Next Time,

Be Blessed

One response to “My 2012 Planning Retreat

Leave a Reply

