P.E.A.C.E.

Recently I was given some unsettling news about changes at my job.  My mind began to wonder immediately to the “what ifs” and “now whats” and “how will I’s”.  I literally started to fill sick to the stomach over the situation.  The problem was the situation I was sick over was not yet reality and was bein blown out of proportion in my mind.  I came across notes from a sermon at church in 2010 on thoughts. It was a God sign no doubt and I thought I’d share:

Our thoughts has more to do with our lives then we think.  Here’s an acronym to help you have peace in your thought life.

P – Purposely choose your thoughts.

Don’t be fooled.  Our thoughts are not random.  We can choose the Godly thoughts that come to our mind or the thoughts of the enemy. Paul clearly tells us what we should think on in Philippians.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.  Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me ro seen in me – put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.” Philippians 4:8-9

E – Eliminate negative thoughts

We must rid ourselves of negative thinking.  This is sometimes a hard concept to grasp. That we can stop thinking something.  At least it was for me.  The more we allow negative thoughts to creep in and linger the faster they take root and grow. Eventually our hearts become overrun with the mess growing in our minds. 

“Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” Proverbs 4:23

A – Allow only approved thoughts to linger.

So how do we stop the negative thoughts? By lingering on the godly thoughts.  We must take every thought captive; measure it against God’s word and the ones that hold true to his word are the ones we linger (or mediate) on. 

“The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world.  On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:4-5

It is so important to know the Word of God.  I am not very good at memorizing scripture. It is on my 2012 list of goals to attempt to memorize more. 

C – Conquer thoughts that are against you.

How many times have you said something like this “I’d like to help out but I don’t have the right skills.”  or “I’m too shy to speak to the whole group.”

These are thoughts that are coming against you. Especially if you have heard clearly from the Lord something He wants you to do.

“No, in all things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

There. It’s settled.  NOTHING can separate us from the love of God so if you are set out to do His will then you can’t go wrong.

E – Encourage others through positive converstion

Ouch. I admit when I was first told of the situation at work I was negative about it.  I spoke negatively with a friend and coworker who is also effected by the decision and we were less than positive.  I later apologized to her after I’d prayed about it.  I expressed my desire to help her through her rough times as she is more affected than I.  (A benefit to encouraging others is that it takes the focus off self.)

“Do not let unwholesome talk come out of our mouths, but only what is helpful fur building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:20

Until Next Time

Be Blessed

Leave a Reply

