The Proverbs 31 Woman

” A wife of noble character, who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.  Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.  She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.  She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands.  She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar.  She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family and portions for her servant girls.  She considers a field and buys it; out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.  She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.  She sees that her trading is profitable, and her lamp does not go out at night.  In her hands she holds the distaff and grasps the spindle with her fingers.  She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy.  When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.  She makes coverings for her bed; she is clothed in fine linen and purple.  Her husband is respected at the city gate, where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.  She makes linen garments and sells them and supplies the merchants with sashes.  She si clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.  She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.  She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.  Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.  Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.  Give her the reward she has earned. And let her works bring her praise at the city gate.” – Proverbs 31:10-31

 I’ve been studying the above passage this week as part of Maximize Your Mornings Challenge and I have to tell you I’ve really struggled all week.  Not with the passage, I fell in love with it the very first time I read it a few years ago. No, I’ve been struggling mentally and emotionally.  The enemy was my mind. I am thankful that I realized it after only a few days and after some time in prayer I realize why.  The enemy doesn’t want me to embrace the woman God is calling me to.

What do you see when you read the above passage? A meek, mousey woman? A 1950’s housewife with no voice; no say in life? 

 I see an example of who we are to be as woman and wives.  We have gotten away from the standard of the noble virtuous wife (woman.). Feminism has given us some wonderful opportunities but it has also made the Proverbs 31 woman a pitiful housewife who is outdated in both desires and example. This is simply not the case. Whether the 19th century or the 21st century the noble, virtuous women described in Proverbs 31 is relevant, real and timely.

 This is our charge as woman whether we want to hear it or not.  Even though it is counter-cultural it is still Truth.  I don’t see a meek, mousey woman.  I see a strong, smart woman who is at ease with her strength and at rest with her power*. 

She does not need to prove to anyone that she is strong. She’s not afraid of her husband’s leading because she knows what strengths and gifts the Lord has given her and she fully embraces them.  Even when she is working outside the home (vs 16, 18, 24) her goal and her vision is the betterment of her home; her family.  

She is the heart of the home, the lifeblood that keeps the other parts alive and in motion.  Together with her husband as the head, they build a the most important place on earth…..a home. 

Until next time,

Be Blessed

*A quote from Lisa Bevere in her book Lioness Arising.

This post shared at Woman Living Well Linkup Party.Women Living Well Wednesdays

3 responses to “The Proverbs 31 Woman

  1. Hey Danielle! Just stopping by through Women Living Well. I really need to revisit this passage. I read it more when I first got married but I had a pretty legalistic view of what I “had” to turn myself into to be a good wife even if it didn’t even feel like me, and my husband and I were miserable with the results. I basically tried to copy ONE group’s idea of everything a wife should be and that isn’t what it is about, as you have pointed out. I want to be exactly the wife God wants me to be but I need to start with my heart, not copying ONE idea of what this passage should look like! I do like these verses, too. They are encouraging and they are from my Father so I will pray that I can follow. :o)

Leave a Reply

