A Failed Dinner and A New Meal Plan

I really L-O-V-E to cook and bake and try new things. This whole meal planning thing has been an adventure and thus far I’m having great results.  I’ve added some great new recipes shared through the Plan It! Don’t Panic Facebook group which has been helpful as well.

 Sigh…..and then comes the part of being in the kitchen that I really dislike……a failed recipe.  I know, I know, I should be used to it, I should expect that it will happen. I am and I do however it nonetheless frustrates me.  Especially when it is a complete, not really suitable to eat failure and I have to make something else completely. 

 Tonight is a good example.  My Chicken and Mushroom Casserole (that replaced the Chicken and Dumplings on my original meal plan) was lacking….really, really lacking.  Yuck.  Couldn’t eat it, couldn’t serve it to my husband….even the baby wouldn’t eat any. (Add teething factor there.)

 Sigh (again) so we boil water for spaghetti….good ‘ole spaghetti.  It’s quick, it’s easy and it replaces anything that doesn’t come out right! 

 One final lesson I’ve learned this week, well last actually……If you make a meal plan, when you grocery shop it’s important to LOOK AT THE MEAL PLAN before you shop.  Yes, this is common sense but apparently I was comatose when I when grocery shopping because I got the standard things we were out of/ running low on but I never looked at my meal plans to see what I needed for the dishes I was planning to prepare.  You’ll have this I guess!

 Here’s this week’s complete changed, rearranged and still not probably gonna happen meal plan…enjoy…..

 Monday –    B: Scrambled Eggs (didn’t happen)
                       L: Left overs (happened)
                       D: Chicken Mushroom Casserole (quickly met Mr. Trashcan)

 Tuesday –     B: Bananas and Grapes
                        L:  PB & J
                        D:  Pakistani Kima

 Wednesday-B:  Pancakes
                        L:  Tuna Melts
                        D:  Philly Beef Bake
 

Thursday –     B:  Oatmeal
                        L: Leftovers
                        D: Tuna Casserole, Maple Glazed Carrots
 
Friday –          B: Quiche
                        L: Out
                        D: Pork, Sauerkraut and Mashed Potatoes
 

Saturday –        B: Bananas and Toast
                        L: Out
                        D: Veggie Beef Soup
 
Sunday –          B: Fruit and Yogurt
                        L: Out 
                        D: Out
 
 
Until Next Time,
 
Be Blessed!

ps – Please forgive me for the odd spacing.  I’m not sure what is going on there. 

Leave a Reply

